Categories
ASP.NET Microsoft Software Development Web Development

Updating Angular 2 + ASP.NET Core Web Template for Visual Studio 2017 RTM

I am currently starting a new project for ASP.NET Core 1.1 when I suddenly realized that there’s a template that I can probably use for this.  Unfortunately though, the VS extension isn’t updated yet for Visual Studio 2017.

blog-01-vs2015

If you try to install this with only VS 2017 installed in your machine, you won’t be able to and you’ll be faced with this error –

blog-02-install-error

Fortunately, not all is lost yet. You can still install this template on your machine by doing the following:

  1. Extract the VSIX package
  2. Change the manifest file, replace references to 14 (Visual Studio 2015 is Version 14) to 15 (Visual Studio 2017), and save it.

    extract

  3.  Once saved, you need to package back the extracted folder to a VSIX file

    package

  4. From here you can install the package in VS 2017. There are some error warnings, but you can ignore it (for now)

    success

  5. Upon launching Visual Studio 2017, you would see that a new project template can be selected

    Screenshot (19)

  6. Once created, you would see that some of the packages aren’t installed. These would be automatically restored by Visual Studio.

    Screenshot (21)

  7. Ctrl + F5 and you’re good to go!

    success-site

 

By default, the project that would be created is still on .NET Core 1.0. I changed the target to .NET Core 1.1 and the project ran as it is.

While this is a workaround for now, the official extension with more features hopefully would be released soon.

 

 

By Patrick

My friends call me Patrick although I can be referred through different names - JP, John, Patrick, Yummy (unfortunately), Papa P, and so on. I am a software developer who works mostly with Microsoft technologies but consider myself open to other technologies. I have started with open source technologies but it was the Microsoft stuff that jumpstarted my career so well, so my loyalty goes to ahm, ehrm, what works best! I talk about a lot of things under the sun but even if we disagree on some discussions, I would definitely respect your views on it. Loves traveling, adventures, reading, cooking, and photography when I don't sit in front my computer. Who ever said software developers are boring people?

Leave a comment