Second Time Around

This year’s Microsoft MVP Summit is my second (2011 was the first) and so far the best that I have experienced! It was without my knowledge that this year, if not for my friend that 2013 would be the 20th year that the program is in place and making it in this momentous event has caught me by surprise.

The range of topics for my specific area of expertise are exciting in the sense that I can’t wait to get dirty with my hands as well using those. Of course, what they’re are – are still covered by NDA hence, it can’t be released in public until Microsoft makes it public themselves. I could remember that during the last summit, what we are currently using were previewed then but with MVPs’ input and in various CTP releases, they have shipped a good product where everyone is pleased (not giving specifics but it is released in VS 2012). 🙂

Prior to the summit, selecting my sessions, I realized that most of ASP.NET/IIS related topics are assigned in Hyatt. In a way, I am disappointed by it as the previous summit that I have attended, sessions were held in the main campus in various buildings. Given that I have attended only 2, there were some differences with the range of activities held however, I am pretty much satisfied with how things worked this time – logistics, food, internet (a must!) and activities.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

But more than the sessions, I really liked as well the activities on socialization where I got to meet not only Microsoft People that I look up to but also different MVPs from other countries such as Germany, Switzerland, Japan, and UK. Likewise, I was able to meet Filipino MVPs who are based on other countries as well. Aside from pleasantries, the exchange of communication was the highlight of the event. That is where we put faces behind the names and talk about common interests and share techniques and approaches that would help fill up best-practices in our respective organizations. The camaraderie has shown that the MVPs are not just techie guys but fun guys as well fueled with passion to use and share about the Microsoft technologies. This passion drives the most of us to PASS It ON to others to make lives, experiences, and computing better!

Happy 20th Microsoft MVP!

Leave a Reply

