On Work Schedules

workee.jpg

Recently, certain changes with regards to my work schedule has been implemented. While the announcement appear happen to be unorthodox, we don’t have no choice but to follow. Imagine sending an e-mail, which should be rather an office memo instead was sent on an ungodly time where most people are out of the office and rushing off from work to catch up with the traffic that the holiday break will give.

Work schedule has always been a big issue for me. It’s not that I can’t comply with company guidelines or sort but time is a very important thing for me and changing it has an impact to my well being. In my entire working experience, this is the first time that I’ll be experiencing a fixed schedule. Not that I am degrading call center employees (I do have relatives working in a call centers) but it seems like I am working like one because I am compelled to get to work even if I don’t have to do at the start (sometimes work come late in the day). Personally, I don’t think that a fixed schedule won’t work in a IT related work as the work comes once in a while and depends on the milestones that it has to accomplish. Unless work requires support on a prescribed period for clients, work shouldn’t be on a fixed schedule.

In your opinion, on what type of situations where a fixed schedule would work better over a flexible time schedule?

5 thoughts on “On Work Schedules

  1. Not really night shift but instead on a fixed schedule. Before, I usually go to the gym prior going to the office and I usually arrive between 0845-0915 hours. Given that, I can be off from 1745-1815 hours. However, at the current system, regardless of my time-in should my shift be from 9-6, I need to be in before 9 in able for not to be late. If I arrive before 9, 6 would still be my exit. As someone who has co-curricular activities after work, that means and will hurt a lot my out of office endeavors.

  2. Employees in any position should be able to choose when and where they work – as long as their work gets done. No one should have a work schedule handed to them. Employees should work together to figure out the best way to cover the work that needs to get done. Productivity is better when this happens and people are happier. And you would get to enjoy all of your out of office endeavors!

    Cali Ressler and Jody Thompson
    Creators of the Results-Only Work Environment (ROWE)
    Authors of the forthcoming book “Why Work Sucks and How to Fix It”

  3. That is indeed an ouchie.

    Our office does not officially have a flexitime policy (it is actually 9-6) but it is not thoroughly enforced. So people still come in late with little consequence. It’s a big thing for me when my daughter needs taking care of in the morning.

  4. Hi Cali and Jody,

    I do share the same sentiments but I don’t think it will be a valid reason to the powers may be. I am just watching the progress first of their implementation although I already have plans on how to mitigate my concerns.

    @Jonjon: That hurts really! Imagine, I have to go undertime just to attend to my out of office endeavors especially when I have to deliver a MSDN session. That’s why I am contemplating if I can still make that talk possible or not.

Leave a Reply

