Kilig

While going to work this morning, on the radio of the FX cab that I rode, it was playing a promotional ad for an upcoming Filipino movie. After the ad, I just remembered that the movie will be shown today and I have seen the trailer of the movie when I watched “Lust, Caution” last Saturday. Feeling excited with the movie, I remembered a typical Filipino word related to love and relationships: “kilig”. I am looking for a translation for this word although I can’t find a decent one. In Filipino, this word if oftenly used by (or being referred to) couples whenever they feel “loved” by their partner. Examples of usage are:

“grabe, kinikilig ako pag dumadaan siya” (gosh, i feel “kilig” when he/she passes by)
“ang sweet naman ng text niya, kinilig ako” (his/her SMS was sweet, i feel “kilig”).

Still, I can’t help myself but relate to the teasers of the movie and these lines seem to hit my heart:

omc.jpg

“In a perfect love story… is perfect enough for you to stay?”
“When love starts to end…how soon should you let go?”
“To find herself again..she had to lose him. To find love again…he had to lose it.”

Sorry if I might sound KJ though even if I’m no John Lloyd Cruz nor Bea Alonzo fan, I will watch this movie. 😛

Leave a Reply

