Secure Lover?

While waiting for a file to be available in my work, I visited some links in my blog roll and I saw Ryan‘s post on a Tickle.com test called “Are You A Secure Lover?” Honestly, I am not used to answering these type of posts but boredom really pushes me to take this test.

There are 51 questions and from what I observed while taking the test is that it resembles a typical “psychological” exam wherein there are questions that seems to be similar with another question just that it is either rephrased or the reverse of the question.

The result is:

Patrick, you tend to gravitate toward romantic partners who have a Preoccupied attachment style. 

People with a preoccupied attachment style tend to show a great deal of openness and are eager to get close in a relationship. They can be very devoted partners.

Attachment style begins in infancy with the interactions we have with our parents or primary caregivers. Through these early relationships we begin to understand the dynamics and patterns of close relationships and we carry this perspective into our adult relationships.

Psychologists call your attachment style Preoccupied.

You tend to worry about being abandoned in your romantic relationships. You have a strong desire for closeness, but may feel that others seem unwilling to get as close as you would like. It’s likely that your openness to relationships is one of the first things potential partners notice about you.

Seeing the results really striked me in some way. I don’t know if it’s pure coincidence or the exam was just carefully crafted to give a near-“accurate” results. I would agree on the points mentioned that:

1) openness (yeah, I’m open-minded. Lol.),
2) be devoted partners (Ahem!),
3) attachment style is based on the interactions with our parents (Well, in a way I am very close to my parents and I tend to be close with someone after a specific period of time. Though the latter depends on the level of intimacy – not the green one but the quality of time spent getting to know one another)
4) worry about being abandoned (who wouldn’t?)
5) strong desire for closeness but others seem unwilling (well, that’s part of life. you can’t please others as the saying goes).

Whew!

Leave a Reply

