My Programmer Personality

I have been surfing the net last night and I saw this programmer personality test. The questions were relatively straight-forward and I think the results that I got somehow reflects what I am as a programmer.

PLSC

You’re a Planner.
You may be slow, but you’ll usually find the best solution. If something’s worth doing, it’s worth doing right.

(For me, planning plays a big role in developing software. I am very particular with the software specifications since I wanted that everything is clear before I start writing the first line of code. Moreover, planning will eliminate the time needed to create code that has been implemented before. This I mean, if there’s a certain part of your previous project that can be re-used in your new project, why re-code it when you can implement it again)

You like coding at a Low level.
You’re from the old school of programming and believe that you should have an intimate relationship with the computer. You don’t mind juggling registers around and spending hours getting a 5% performance increase in an algorithm.

(I have always loved Rapid Application Development (RAD) tools however, it is important for me also on how are these “built-in” functionalities are implemented in raw code. Considering ASP.NET 2.0, a lot of improvements have been done to make the life of developers easier by creating common components that requires no coding. Although that’s a significant improvement, I would still love to doing it the old way not to burden myself but to give myself a deeper insight on how things work and what can I do to make it better).

You work best in a Solo situation.
The best way to program is by yourself. There’s no communication problems, you know every part of the code allowing you to write the best programs possible.

(Honestly, it’s not that I am a loner but this one supplements the one that I mentioned in the “planning” part. Having said that I am particular in specifications, as much as possible, I wanted to do it “my way” though adhering to existing coding standards imposed by the company that I am working for. I’d rather do the talking after encountering “problems” while coding. I might be a soloist but that doesn’t mean I can’t work on teams.)

You are a Conservative programmer.
The less code you write, the less chance there is of it containing a bug. You write short and to the point code that gets the job done efficiently.

(It’s simply KISS: Keep It Short and Simple. Efficiency. 🙂 )

If you want to try it yourself, you can start here.

Leave a Reply

